Mr Tommy Beasley made it back to back wins in 1881 having also triumphed upon Empress in 1880. When you look through the results of Grand Nationals of the last few years there are not any jockeys who rode repeat Nationals. I was born in ’79 and no jockey has rode repeat winners in my lifetime. Though during this period Tommy Pickernell, J M Richardson, George Stevens all managed to win more than once. Three of the four jockeys listed won back to back Nationals, incredible.

1881 was a good result for the betting public as in a wide open betting market Woodbrook was 11/2 joint favourite in a field of only 13 runners.

Starting Price: 11/2 JF

Age: 7 years

Winning Distance: T Kirkwood

Owner: John Nightingall

Jockey: Tommy Beasley

Weight Carried: 11st3lbs

Runners: 13

2nd: Regal

3rd: Thornfield

4th: New Glasgow

Previous: Empress: 1880 Grand National Winner
Next: Seaman: 1882 Grand National Winner